District Administration

Administrative Setup    District Collectorate     Functions of Collector

  Administrative Setup Top
In order to facilitate revenue adminstration, the entire geographical area of North Goa is sub-divided into Sub-divisions and Talukas.
The North Goa District is divided into six talukas and four sub-divisions.
Talukas are further subdivided into revenue circles and circles into revenue sazas. 
These sazas consist of compact revenue villages. 
At the grass root level saza consists of a group of villages which is under charge of a Talathi.
Circle inspector is incharge of the group of sazas of that revenue circle.
Mamlatdar is the head of Taluka revenue office. 
Dy. Collector & SDO is the head of the subdivision. 
District administration is headed by the Collector.

Subdivisions :

        Panaji, Mapusa, Bicholim & Ponda

Talukas : 

        Bardez, Bicholim, Pernem, Ponda, Sattari & Tiswadi


  District Collectorate Top
Collectorate is a district administrative office, where the policies of the Government are translated into practice and the problems of local people are studied and communicated to the State Government. Almost every citizen of a District comes into contact with the District Administration, which deals with the public for issuing important documents in land matters like licenses, certificates, permissions at District level, sub-division level & at the level of Mamlatdar. 

The Collector has been declared as Head of the Department. Collector also functions as District Magistrate. At the division level Dy. Collector and Sub-Divisional Officers are functionaries. At taluka level Mamlatdars are the heads to the talukas and then at last Talathi is the representative of the Government to help the public at Grass root level. 
   Functions of Collector (NorthGoa) Top
Revenue Functions

The functions are based mainly on the Land Revenue Code, 1968 and Rules framed there under. 

Under conversion of land, Sanads are granted for the area more than 500sq. metres by Collector. 
For the area less 500 sq. metres the conversion sanad(s) are issued by the respective Dy. Collectors. 

The Collector also functions under Portuguese legislation under which govt. land known as Aforamento (Communidade land) were granted for specific purposes, the holder of such land apply for final grant and in case, they fulfill all the conditions of original grant, cases are forwarded to the government for grant of land, as Class I occupant. 

Recovery of loans, tax etc. from the defaulting parties as areas of land revenue, the cases of which are referred to this office, by central govt. departments, state govt. departments and local bodies.


Land Acquisition
For acquiring land in public interest the acquiring department after performing the laid down procedures approaches Collector for land Acquisition. In land acquisitions matters Collector allots cases to various authorities designated as Land Acquisition Officers. 
Civil Administration 

Consists of two subjects: 

a. Communidade matters

To check the proper functioning of Communidades as per the Code of Communidade     

b. Devasthan Matters 

Monitors the functioning of all registered temples in the district

Magisterial Functions
The Government delegated its powers under section 13 of the Code of Criminal Procedure to the District Magistrate of North Goa to maintain law and order in the district through various authorities. There is one additional District magistrate to perform the magisterial duties. 
As a District Magistrate, the Collector of North Goa is empowered to try, in a summary way, cases under Criminal Procedure Code, Arms Act, Defacement of Public Property Act, Cinematography Act, Petroleum Act, Explosives Act, Indian Stamp Act.

The Deputy Collectors & SDO are the incharge of the sub-divisions and looks after various functions under Land Revenue Code, Tenency act, Mundkar act, CRPC & Elections. 

There are four Sub-divsional Magistrates for North Goa, with their offices located at Panaji, Mapusa, Bicholim & Ponda. 

Mamlatdars & Joint Mamlatdars are the executive magistrates in the respective talukas. 

The Mamlatdars being the head of the Taluka, control revenue circles & sazas within their jurisdiction. He is responsible for internal distribution of food grains and essential commodities, inspection of fair price shops and enforcement of Government control orders and is assisted by the civil supplies inspectors under the supervision of Director, Directorate of Civil Supplies & Price Control. 
Mamlatdars are also empowered to maintain Law & order under CRPC as Executive magistrate and looks after Law & order within their Talukas. 

District Collector of North Goa has been designated as District Election Officer (DEO) & also Returning Officer for Panaji Parliament Constituency and the Deputy Collectors have been designated as Assistant Returning Officers.

The Deputy Collectors have been also been designated as Retuning Officers and Electoral Registration Officers in all 19 assembly constituencies each in their respective jurisdictions and Mamlatdars as the Assistant Returning Officers and Assistant Electoral Registration Officers.
Collector is the Chairman of the following committees:
District Consumers Protection Council
District level vigilance and monitoring committee
Transport committee
District level committee for finalising assistance to victims of Terrorist and Communal Voilence
District level monitoring committee to enforce the cable television networks (Regulation) Act, 1955
Noise Pollution Monitoring Committee
Goa Leprosy Society.
Goa Blindness control society
Youth Hostel management Committee
Nehru Yuva Kendra
Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya